Last night Jay and I figured out that we were celebrating our 22nd Valentine's Day together. It was definitely one of our most memorable ones.

I began the day with my walk into Chambrun, with Kofe the dog. Kofe and I regularly get a chance to herd sheep on our walks, but I laugh out loud every time. It is SO unreal to be walking along a dirt path and to come upon forty sheep who take off in crazy directions as I approach.

When I returned, I discovered that Jeremiah had delivered a bag of chocolate hearts on my desk...he had Jay buy them on Superbowl Sunday, the last time we were at the store. He was the only one in our family who thought of Valentine's Day in time to buy a Valentine treat. (NO, I did NOT receive any type of Valentine from my husband! Can anyone say DOGHOUSE?)

After lunch I took myself off to the kitchen and made about 60 heart-shaped sugar cookies (An Act of Service for my husband). (Sue and Mom - Do you remember packing that heart cookie-cutter!?) It went fairly fast with the help of my boys.

So Jay and I had gotten it into our heads that we wanted to take the kids out for ice cream as our family treat for Valentine's Day. By the time I finished the cookies, it was late enough in the afternoon for traffic to get hairy. Because it was "close", we decided to go to the Epi-dor...basically a fast food restaurant attached to a gas station. They advertise ice cream, serve hamburgers and french fries, and crepes. Well, by the time we got there several of us were slightly carsick and there was no ice cream. So, we ordered two chocolate crepes, french fries, and some drinks. Fedlaine decided to throw a fit because she didn't get a Sprite. She fussed and whined and ended up sitting at another table all by herself because she was mad at everyone. In the meantime, we watched them make our crepes. They heated up a prepared crepe and dumped Hershey's syrup and sugar on it. Can I just tell you- it was slimy and nasty. Jay and Anna and I tried to like it and eat it, but it was truly awful. The boys' french fries were good, though. So after our delightful treat, we head back to Chambrun. The kids all decided to sit in the cab with us, since some Haitian had tried to jump in the back with them on the way in. To make the ride home even more memorable, the kids sang loud songs and bumped into each other on purpose. We returned in time for a lovely beef stir-fry dinner, but we were too full/sick to eat much.

Reminiscing over our 22nd Valentine's Day with Jay last night actually had me in fits of laughter. (Yes, Haiti makes me slap-happy at least once a week.) I am truly thankful for the love and laughter in our family - no matter what the circumstances. God is so good.



2/15/2011 12:42:57 pm

Jay,don't feel alone. Bob is right there with you. Guess he thought 2011 was skipping it this year. ......and I must have dropped two hundred hints.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.