Last night over dinner we had a major rainstorm...it was so loud under the tin roof in the cafeteria we couldn't hear one another speak. Jay and Jeremiah and I each took trips out to the tent to move things away from the sides and to close flaps and put away books. At one point Jay was up to his ankles in mud. We actually got dried off and slept in dry tents... but spent the evening thinking of the thousands of people sleeping on muddy floors, under leaking tarps.

The day before yesterday I spent the morning in Pierre's office with he, Dianne, and an 18 yr. old girl who wanted to give up her 7 month old baby. The baby was chubby and happy and healthy. I fed him and made him giggle and took him to the clinic for a check-up. I watched and prayed as Pierre thought and stewed about what to do. NVM really doesn't have a place to put babies - and once you start taking them, we could have a flood of unwanted babies show up. But, on the other hand, this baby is here and we don't want the mom dumping him.  The girl had no family and was living with a friend who she said didn't treat the baby well. The whole morning as I watched this drama, the girl just sat and played with her baby...she showed no emotion or internal conflict over giving up her baby (which I'm told is the norm for the culture). The Pierres offered to keep her stocked with food, but it seems that wasn't the issue. In the end, she couldn't legally drop the baby here without a birth certificate...Pierre sent her with food for the baby and money to get an ID card and birth certificate. Who knows what will happen, but it breaks my heart to see a mom and baby separated. A friend and I sat this morning and discussed the fact that we are witnesses to so much suffering that we have no control over.

Lord, do your thing. Have your way in me as I witness those sleeping in mud and giving up their babies. Have your way in the hearts of those people whose lives are filled with suffering. Let there be a downpour of your grace and mercy over us all.

Traci
2/18/2011 02:12:40 am

Thank you for the blog update. I so enjoy reading your updates about NVM and Haiti. It breaks my heart to hear and see (through your pictures) "the norm" in Haiti, as I am sure it does yours too. However, it is amazing how God is working through NVM and other organizations to reach the people there. Will continue to pray for you and your family.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.