Picture
Picture
Picture
It's been awhile since I've posted, I know. I'm trying to overcome my writer's block this morning, so forgive me if I ramble.
The last two weeks have been nice and relatively quiet, with smaller teams. The song that God has put on my lips has been,
"My God is a giver, an overflowing river
Pouring His lavish love on us
Season after season we give him every reason
To stop, but he never does
Oh-oh-oh, the goodness of God
Is flooding my heart with peace
Oh-oh-oh, the goodness of God
Is bringing me to my knees
We say... We believe You are good
We believe You are good..."

The goodness of God, as a Giver, not a taker has been my meditation lately. Even as a dear friend's wonderful mother faces a serious battle with cancer. Even as we encounter poverty and evil and riots and violence and hungry children and pain and our own temptations and failings. My God is reminding me how good He really is and I am utterly thankful. I must strive to keep an attitude of worship.

A few snapshots of life here in Haiti:

Last week Jay drove "his" tractor back to campus... the John Deere he and those at Lamb Farms worked so hard to restore.  DROVE his tractor. ALL the way from the port in Port Au Prince! Thankfully, Pierre was following him. I think he loved every minute of it, although it was a very bumpy ride.

Last Friday we got to spend the day with our dear friend Deanna and her adoptive daughter, Lydia during their family visit. The kids got to swim and Jay got to nap in the shade by the pool. I adored seeing Lydia in her bathing suit and in Deanna's arms. Then on Saturday we got to spend a day at the beach. It was absolutely so relaxing. The boys decided they did like the ocean, after all....despite being stung by baby jellyfish all day.  And Fedlaine taught herself to swim underwater. She is fearless...I'm somewhat apprehensive about what that might mean for the future...Ha!

This past Thursday night, Jay and I were treated to a night on the town by Esperandieu and Dianne. They drove us up to Petionville, about an hour away, through a very wealthy neighborhood. It was like night and day...fancy stone walls and ornate gates...just blocks from the typical crumbling walls and rusty fences. We had dinner at a very nice Italian restaurant. Mmmm. I had my first salad in three months. And chocolate ice cream for dessert. The irony is that across the street we heard a group of workers singing as they used a bucket brigade to bring mixed cement up to a second floor construction project. Haiti is so full of contrasts.

And last night we celebrated a translator's birthday with Goat Fest 2011. Dinner was tied up to a fence in the morning and on our plates at dinner. Let's just say I really enjoyed the fried plantains....

Tonight we'll journey to Pierres' home again, to watch the Butler game. We'll be looking for Jay's mom and dad as we watch. And I'll probably be working on some new paper bead creations to teach to the ladies here on campus.

Election results will be announced on Monday. We pray for a peaceful reaction...it's so sad to think of more hardship for people here already struggling. Last week the tap-tap drivers went on strike because the price of gas was so high. Of course, that meant that many people couldn't get to work...the kids here at NVM school had a day off because the teachers couldn't make it in to work. Please pray for a restored Haiti...with a leader who has or will develop both a love for and a fear of the Lord.

God has been so very good to us. We've really been blessed with a break before the next teams begin to arrive and by little gifts and treats that keep being sent our way. Please continue to pray for that hedge of protection around our family and around the whole NVM campus.

Deanna
4/2/2011 05:46:08 am

loved spending the day with you and I am so glad Jay got some much needed rest!! Praying for what the Lord has in store for us and so glad your family is letting him lead you. Hope I let him do the same.

Reply
Grandpa David Elliott
4/4/2011 01:44:10 am

I hope things keep going well. By the way, that's an Oliver tractor, not a John Deere. Good luck to Butler tonight in the final game!!!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.