...slept in a tent in a tent
...made 200 snickerdoodles with no cream of tartar
...eaten mango cobbler
...loving having my laundry done for me! Can't bring myself to ask someone to pick up after my messy kids...
...realized that I really will eat beans and rice for lunch everyday for the next year
...carried my monkey daughter everywhere...she loves to be carried and snuggled
...put Cortizone cream on Jacob everyday
...accidentally put my toothbrush in the wrong water (from the tap instead of the water bottle) and accidentally put the toilet paper in the toilet instead of the trash can!
...already forgotten to look up at the mountains everyday
...put my small and dwindling chocolate stash in a secure, cool place
...been reading Isaiah and a devotion by Beth Moore
...learning lots of Creole... Mwen remen ou (I love you)  N'ap vini (I'll be right back) Ou rete la (Stay there) Ou grangou? Are you hungry?
...humbly asked for lots of help in doing Haitian hair
...been blessed to have Fedlaine tell me she loves me... in English!
...had lots of opportunities to hug my kids when they are missing home or overwhelmed, and to be proud of them when they smile graciously even when they don't feel like it
...watched my kids take on new adventures bravely... riding in the back of the pickup, trying mango cobbler (except Jacob, who gagged), praying aloud in front of 60 strangers, being surrounded by Haitian kids who all want to touch you and talk to you at the same time
...been falling in to bed earlier than I ever have.
...been trying to be brave enough to really SEE the people who live in such poverty - did you know that during church services Haitian moms usually scope out which Americans have water bottles and then plop their babies/small children on those people's laps?
...missing you all, but very at peace with where I am
lisa
1/12/2011 09:02:26 pm

Mwen remen ou (I love you)

Reply
kara
1/13/2011 10:48:06 am

Thank you Amy for sharing your life with us. We are very proud of you all. Tell Jeremiah that my class is praying for you and Jacob that Grant says Hi!

Reply
Holly
1/13/2011 11:04:56 am

What an incredible first week. God has blessed you immensely. Thanks for sharing, we miss you too.

Reply
Jodie
1/13/2011 08:53:07 pm

What an amazing week! Wow! Thnak you for sharing from your heart and allowing us the blessing of knowing how to pray along the journey God has given you. I am reminded constantly of HIS faithfulness and grace to give you all that you need for each moment of your day. HE IS ABLE! We love you all and miss you so much. Thank you again for your faithfulness to follow God's plan.

"He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint."
Isaiah 40:31
Mwen remen ou

Reply
Grandpa David
1/15/2011 05:22:21 am

Hi Amy & Jay! Did you get the tractor yet?

Reply
Amanda
1/16/2011 08:35:02 am

Hi Amy,

So very much feel blessed to share in your adventure as we read your blogs and continue praying for God's plan for your family.

"How beautiful on the mountains are the feet of those who bring the Good News, who proclaim peace,who bring good tidings, who proclaim salvation, who say to Zion, Your GOD reigns!"
Isaiah 52:7

:)

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.